top of page

L2ED Founder Speaks for Teacher Preparation

On Tuesday, May 16, 2023, Dr. Thomas J. Lasley (Director of Policy and Advocacy for Learn to Earn and Montgomery County Educational Service Center) was invited by colleagues from the Thomas B. Fordham Institute and the National Council on Teacher Quality for a public discussion, with elected officials and education professionals, regarding Ohio's teacher education programs and how/if they follow the Science of Reading to prepare new teachers for best practices in the classroom. They shared results from a new report analyzing the reading programs of 26 colleges and universities across Ohio (slides available for viewing in the linked PDF).

Ohio Presentation (1)
Download PDF • 1.75MB

If you were unable to attend in person, the Fordham Institute has released a video you can see here.


Original Event Details:

The science of reading movement is sweeping across the nation, and state and local policymakers are taking steps to ensure that students are learning to read via proven methods. Here in Ohio, Governor DeWine is leading bold efforts to ensure that schools use methods that focus on the components of the reading science: phonemic awareness, phonics, fluency, vocabulary, and comprehension.

But what about Ohio’s teacher preparation programs? Are they adequately training prospective teachers in the reading science? Or are some of them promoting methods contrary to it?

Join the Thomas B. Fordham Institute on May 16th for an important discussion about teacher preparation in Ohio. The National Council on Teacher Quality (NCTQ) will present brand-new findings from their latest review of Ohio’s teacher preparation programs in elementary-school reading. A panel will follow, with moderated discussion and an audience Q&A.


Thomas Lasley, Director of Policy and Advocacy

Montgomery County ESC and Learn to Earn Dayton


Heather Peske, President

National Council on Teacher Quality


Senator Andrew Brenner, Chair of the Senate Education Committee

Representative Tom Young, Chair of the House Higher Education Committee

Elizabeth Lolli, Superintendent of Dayton Public Schools


bottom of page